consonantberry

The Lust and the Lunge

In Poetry on April 14, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Smile with me, dear and I’ll spare you the charmless romance of the long lazy looks that I send down the bar where you sit

Laugh with me, dear and I’ll spare you the copious drink gone to waste on that tongue-in-cheek talk full of overblown wit

Dance with me, dear and I’ll spare you the lust and the lunge that is lost between my groping hands and your hourglass hips

Lust with me, dear and I’ll spare you the pain when you wake the next day beside my shapeless frame and you cringe with regret

But I’m sorry, my dear because I spared you nothing! Not even the foul-smelling drunken remains of my vomit and spit

And now that we’re done I should ask you your name and invite you to stay even though it’s quite plain That you’d rather just split

So goodbye, my sweet dear but before you depart I just want you to know that I really had a good time and I hope you did too!

Leave a Reply

