consonantberry

Smothered Moonlight

In Poetry, Prose on April 1, 2012 at 12:22 am

A cigarette yields a worry into the night with a drawn-in glow and a puffed-out billow. The draw is deep because the worry is deep, and the lazy traces of smoke calm his nerves as he follows their meandering trail up through the streetlight’s dull orb of illumination. He grinds the cigarette with his heel and turns his resolve around to face his shaky purpose for being there on a lonely corner outside a run-down truck stop. He pushes through the doors in a hurry, quick before his gumption splits, and amidst the smells of sweat and booze and smoke, he spots her wiping beer stains and globs ketchup off a vacant table. She looks up when he enters, and they lock gazes, and he’s shocked into disambiguating the her of now and then.

There’s smothered moonlight in your eyes
A dull reflection of the dreams that fade in time
There’s weathered softness to your skin
A youthful penchant cast in humbling chagrin
There’s buried freedom in your smile
Lost beneath worry lines that trace the miles
There’s curdled sweetness to your laugh
Colored with the heavy twinge
Of fortune’s fickle path

You’re a worn out woman
You’re a crying shame
But I can’t stop looking
Straight through your stains
And I see you, sweetheart
Staring back at me
That girl I loved in
The faded memories

Are you still there beneath the scars?
Or am I chasing cherished memories too far?
And if I called you by your name
Could you still answer me with something more than shame?
And if we spoke with less than words
In body whispers, far too silent to be heard,
Would you still quiver with the feel
Of someone close enough to see what you conceal?

You’re a worn out woman
You’re a crying shame
But I can’t stop looking
Straight through your stains
And I see you, sweetheart
Staring back at me
That girl I loved in
The faded memories
And I can’t help wondering
As you hold my gaze
What do you see in my eyes?
Do I look the same?

Leave a Reply

